The New Thing: Re-Thinking Re-Vival in America

For I am about to do something new. See, I have already begun! Do you not see it? I will make a pathway through the wilderness. I will create rivers in the dry wasteland. – Isaiah 43:19

Lately, I have been doing a lot of reading, researching, and general poking around about the state of the American Church. I’ve read books, well-written and scholarly articles, web sites, and blogs. From what I can discern, there is a lot of change taking place in the American Church today.

I have read countless words (as Hamlet would say) on the subject of revival in America, and I have surmised that we may simply be missing it. We are waiting for something that is not going to take place. This same situation befell the Jews in regard to Jesus being the Son of God. They were looking for Him arrive in a very different package than the one in which he came. They were looking for fanfare, pomp and circumstance, something that would hit them over the head and say here he is! Instead, they got a sweet baby born in humble circumstances. They were clueless to the greatness of the One who God sent to save them. Because He didn’t appear as they expected, many of them missed it.

I have written about revival before, and now I am rethinking the whole idea. God loves us all and He wants us all to be with him in the end, so why would he want to keep us out? As in Jesus’ day, the religious world today has created churches filled with rules and regulations that keep the lost souls of America out of church and consequently away from God. Oh, how His heart must ache over the state of His church!

Revival in America has certain sights, sounds, movements and certain results that make it what it is and always has been. No specific results, no real revival. But what if God is doing a new thing? What if He is quietly going about touching the lives of men women, and children and reviving their hearts and lives? What if today’s revival has come in a different package? What if we (America) have missed it?

The reason for my comments is that through my own experiences in the American church, my eyes have been opened to the spiritual in a different way. I have read of numerous accounts of people sick of church as usual in America. They are tired of lies of hypocrisy, strict authoritarian leadership, never being enough, and never giving of themselves enough to please the church. They are leaving churches in droves seeking a deeper, more meaningful relationship with God, searching desperately for His His truth, and desiring to connect with a community of believers who are like-minded. So my question to you all is are we in the midst of revival and we don’t see it? I cannot stop thinking about the parable of the 10 virgins, only half of them were ready when the bridegroom called. I want to be ready, for if I miss that, I have missed everything.

Please share your thoughts on the matter.

2 thoughts on “The New Thing: Re-Thinking Re-Vival in America

  1. Wanda

    All I can say is WOW!!!!! I am in awe of what you have written. I believe you are right on track – the right track! I have to sit back and revisit “he will come as a thief in the night” 1Thessalonians 5:2. Thank you for your dilligance in seeking Him. This is an awesome word 👏

Leave a Reply

