Moving On . . .

Jesus said to him, No one who puts his hand to the plow and looks back [to the things behind] is fit for the kingdom of God. –Luke 9:62

It is human nature to look around and think the grass seems greener on the other side. But looking back to the past, even the recent past and longing for its continuation can be deadly. I’ve never been one to stay in one place for too long, as I get bored easily with my surroundings, so moving is something I easily adjust to. For more than 10 years, I have been in the same “spot” and for the last three I was restless. It was time to move on. Through a series of events over the past five months, God made it abundantly clear that changes were coming in my life, but I had no idea exactly what He meant!

Some changes have come, though more changes are in store. I am learning to walk with Jesus in some places that I have never walked with Him before. They are often difficult and rough, but the relationship is unbelievable! His presence is thick and heavy on this path. I am learning to keep walking past my fears, doubts, and the uncertainty of the circumstances of my life, while keeping my focus on Him. To help me understand these difficulties, the Holy Spirit reminds me that Jesus walked the toughest, loneliest roads imaginable and suffered unfathomable pain in all parts of His being. If I truly aspire to follow Him, I too, must follow His path. It’s painful and often lonely, and at times renders me in tears.

Philippians 3:10 says it this way: “that I may know Him and the power of His resurrection, and the fellowship of His sufferings . . .” There’s that word again, suffering. No human enjoys suffering, at all. It’s totally averse to our nature to desire to suffer. But through these intense difficulties is where we find Christ. It is where we discover the true essence of who He was and is.

This road is not for the weak or the faint of heart; you will get weary and tired. So, what am I doing here? How did I get here, I ask myself at times. The inner man shouts to put a stop to this madness! But somehow, I keep walking because I know it’s the path I must walk, for I know who He is, I know He is with me, so I will not fail. I know He keeps His promises, and I know I am now and always will be victorious in Him, with Him, and through Him!

My pace is clipped and purpose is true. The past is behind me, its purpose fulfilled. With each difficulty, trial, and test I desire to know Him. I now desire to be last to be first, to go down to go up, to be ignored to be seen, to be reviled to be useful to Him, for Him. I have begun to gain true insight into Philippians 3 because we have to first walk the path to show others the way. Jesus and Paul showed us the way. May you keep moving on to find Him for yourself – on the path.

2 thoughts on “Moving On . . .

  1. Wanda Barrett

    Words of great wisdom! This is so true to truly find Him is a lonely road. He’s at every corner and every turn waiting to lead us into our destiny that God created us for on this earth. This road teaches us to fully trust in Him, lean on Him and not our own understanding. No one can walk with us it’s not their destiny it’s ours and ours alone! Greatness follows! His strength is what carries us. At the end of this road is complete freedom! Meaning: knowing who you truly are in Him! Praise God! Praise God! Many are called but FEW are chosen. Chosen, because we seek Truth and nothing else will satisfy our being!

    1. Amen, sweet sister! You also know Him. I’m so happy to be on the road leaving all else behind, moving on light and free. Wish we could talk! Peace be with you now and always!

      Love you,

      Jo šŸ”„šŸ™‹šŸ™ŒšŸ”„

      Sent from my iPad

      >

Leave a Reply

