On The Road . . .

All of a sudden life has become so busy that most of the day’s activities lose their meaning. I flow from one event to another until they all blur into one long, steady stream of tasks, like a spinning cog in the wheel. Time has taken on a different dynamic in that it has less importance than ever before, though it’s really quite precious. Life in this world has become an exercise in contradiction of purpose and meaning.

After carefully considering all options at my disposal, I choose to let go of the swirl of activity, possessions, and tasks that comprise my world. I simply choose Jesus. He’s truly all I want, all I need, and all that truly matters.

The apostle Paul understood the need of letting go of everything, I mean everything. In Philippians 3, the apostle speaks of his lineage, heritage, education, and power, things he once held precious- all things many spend a lifetime striving to attain. This passage first spoke to my heart many years ago where Paul shares his heart about Jesus in an awe-inspiring manner. I once thought these things were valuable, but now I consider them worthless because of what Christ has done. Yes, everything else is worthless when compared with the infinite value of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have discarded everything else, counting it all as garbage, so that I could gain Christ. Wow- how did Paul know my heart in the first century, over 2000 years ago?

As the passage continues, Paul says three words that take my breath away – to know Him. How many people can truly say that they know Jesus? Not many, for few are willing to walk that path.

I refuse to go through the experience of life and gain nothing of any lasting value for it. I too, want to know Him. I have counted the cost, I have made my choice, and I am on my way. The road will be rough and rocky, with pitfalls, traps, and quicksand, but I have the best Guide who will personally see that I get where I intend to go. It is so simple, yet few find their way onto this road or even desire to walk it, for it is lonely. But I do not walk alone- ever. He is always with me. The only question that remains is which road you will choose.

One thought on “On The Road . . .

  1. Wanda Barrett

    Reading this Post was like reading my mind. It’s 4:30 am on Saturday morning, I’m in my prayer room and just seeking God. I feel the same, endless task and nothing of any meaning. I spoke to my husband yesterday and said “I feel like I accomplish nothing and just run in circles. I feel like I’m of no value, meaning, not being of any help or purpose.” I’m reminded of the 120 that remained in the Upper Room and were fill with Holy Spirit. Holy Spirit came and filled them and then they were able to fill others with the Gospel of Jesus Christ. Life is about knowing what the Cross represents, the Blood and His broken body. Communion is a life style we need daily in rememberence of what Jesus did. Jesus paid a gruesome pice for each of us. To stay so busy with the cares of this world is to miss the life God intended for us. Jesus communed with His father early in the morning as Adam and Eve did in the garden (in the cool of the eve); however Adam and Eve were deceived: Jesus was not! Jesus stayed to His purpose and won the battle for all of us. We need to be joyous people showing gladness in our life. Not stress and so busy we can’t enjoy our lives! God word says if we are not honored (or received) to brush off our feet and move on (or leave that place). I receive this post and truly believe God is leading His Bride in these last days! What an awesome time to live in and God choose us to represent His kingdom and be apart of His Bride. Consider ourselves worthy, chosen and ready to preach, teach the Gospel of Jesus Christ to a dark and dying world. Get ready our true task is at hand! Thank you Jo for another great post. Your writings are from your heart and are purposed in our lives in this moment of time.

Leave a Reply

