Finding Purpose in Position

Work- it’s a good thing; it’s a God thing, but it can become a wearisome chore if we are not careful to maintain our purpose and position. The past 10-12 months have been some of the most challenging of my life, and I found myself doubting both my position and my purpose. I had become weary in my well doing. God Has made it clear to me that my workplace is a mission field and He put me there to work for His purposes. But truth be known, I cannot always say that I have done it with a happy heart. It is the most challenging work I have ever done, I have often felt ill-equipped to perform it. At the end of this past year, I had made the decision to find some other area of expertise to carry out God’s purposes. Oops! Bad decision on my part.

My first error was that I had agreed with all the negative thoughts that flooded into my mind over many months, which supported what I saw in the physical situations of my life. The evidence seems inevitable that I should leave. Everything there was hard, and I mean HARD. I have never wanted to give up on a job so much in all my life. I focused on the issues of life, forgetting my errand (purpose) and who I belong to (position). I had allowed the facts to overcome the truth.

Several years ago, The Lord shared this with me ” It’s not what you think, it’s what I know.” Wow! That was an eye-opener for me at the time. I tucked this truth away and went on with life. Now, several years later, I find His words even more powerful and profound.

In essence what He was telling me is found in Jeremiah 29:11-13: For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the Lord, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end. Then shall ye call upon me, and ye shall go and pray unto me, and I will hearken unto you. And ye shall seek me, and find me, when ye shall search for me with all your heart.

As I prayed to God for help and guidance to make sense of all the swirl of chaos that had become my life, some days it seem as if it was all I could do to hold on to Him. These words would come to me from time to time-And let us not be weary in well doing: for in due season we shall reap, if we faint not -Galatians 6:9. Life had been hard for what seemed like a very long time, and I was tired beyond words and was ready for some reaping! During times of intense testing and trials, bitterness and weariness can spring up in our hearts if we are less than watchful. It can come in the form of hurt-filled words, negative thoughts (even toward people we love and respect), ungodly motivation and intentions, and unkind, heartless actions toward others- another pathway for weariness to creep up inside of us.

Here, at the end of a long string of fiery trials, as the dust settles and the clouds part, God is enabling me to see the purpose for my position. If I had left, I would have been leaving the very place (position) for my purpose. He reminds me that He has opened a door for me there that no man can shut. Now that statement contains the power of the Almighty God! I have a settledness that I have not had before. This experience has been a semi-Job moment in my life (not attempting to compare myself with Job!), a turning point for me that has further cleansed me for service and clarified my purpose. In all, I can agree with God’s word: But ye, brethren, be not weary in well doing- 2 Thessalonians 3:13. Because I have walked out these trials, I can say that God is making clear my purpose and further instilling in me revelation of my position in Him ” complete in Him” with Him “joint heir with Christ” and for Him ” we were made for His good pleasure “. What beauty we find in the trials when we take the time to look into the plans and purposes of God for our lives that come as the result. dear friend, my prayer for you today is for you to keep your focus on Jesus at all times, to come forth from your trials as pure gold for the the plans and purposes of God for your life, that He complete the good work He has begun in you, for such a time as this, you were made. Amen. Glory to our God-I am rooting for you!

Leave a Reply

