Waiting on You, Lord

2 Peter 3:9 The Lord is not slack concerning his promise, as some men count slackness; but is longsuffering to us-ward, not willing that any should perish, but that all should come to repentance.

Slackness- a word with dubious implications. It implies a lack of commitment to something one was once committed or at least intended to be committee to long term.
When I think of slackness, I see images of being slack in my housekeeping, being slack in my job responsibilities, or being slack in my relationships. Relationships- touchy subject. By not putting forth the effort to keep my personal and professional relationships strong, I am inviting slackness into my life in a major way, resulting in lousy (slack) relationships.

I love the direct way Peter states the The Lord IS NOT SLACK! There is no confusion on this issue. God does not deal in confusion or distortion. What we sometimes see as slackness is the patience and longsuffering of God because He desires that all be saved. I thank God for His patience with me and He Himself has taught me to be patient with Him like He’s patient with me. When I heard that one day from Him, I stopped in my tracks. Who am I to think I can snap my fingers (fingers HE made!) and move God. He directs me, not the other way around. Boy, was I being demanding and self-centered! God had given my an awesome promise and I was too self-focused to see that it would take time to realize the promise. I am still waiting today, but a much more humble attitude that has been created in the waiting.

God is faithful. Numbers 23:19 tells us that “God is not a man, that he should lie; neither the son of man, that he should repent: hath he said, and shall he not do it? or hath he spoken, and shall he not make it good?” That verse alone does it for me! God does not and will not lie to His children. What a great source of comfort for us in times of waiting, so we don’t count God as slack. I love the fact that He models what He says. He is patient; therefore, I must be patient. He is faithful, so I must be faithful. He keeps His promises, and I must keep my promises. He has also taught me not to make promises I cannot keep- He doesn’t. I cannot express my gratitude for His mighty wisdom and understanding!

Humans are slack; it’s that old sinful nature. But we can learn to overcome it and become more like Jesus, who was slack in nothing, kept His promises, and took waiting and suffering with patience. This is one area in my life that I constantly ask God for strength and patience with me daily. I trust Him to know what I need and to help me. This is where knowing God and who He is is very important. I encourage you to ” search the Scriptures day and night” to see who the God of the Bible truly is. Let us base our knowledge of Him on His word and simply not the words of others. God loves us unconditionally and He alone knows who We are inside, in my deepest places of our beings. The very nature of God invites an intimate relationship with Him. So the next time impatience or slackness towards God tries to rise up in you, remember who God is and that He is faithful!

References:
Psalms 37:5-7; Heb. 6:15; Psalms 40:1

One thought on “Waiting on You, Lord

  1. Pingback: Willingness To Wait | ConquerorShots

Leave a Reply

