Learning To Let Go

Hi Lord. It’s me again- You know me. The lady with the Southern Belle charm and the Sunday-school smile who is really a mess inside. It’s 4:08 am and I’ve been awake awhile and finally got up to purge my ” teaming brain” as Keats would say. Stress- I’m addicted to it, immersed by it, encapsulated in it – stress. It is as if some weighty demonic force has sat down upon me and sunk its claws deep within me and has decided to set up permanent residence . (Oh, I got a visual of that!) God, You see me and You truly desire to help me, but I simply won’t let go of it. Work stress, home stress, even stress in my spiritual life. The poor dog can’t sleep for my incessant clicking as I type- hoping to find some relief in the ramblings of my mind.

Oh Dear Lord, how I must grieve Your heart. I know what Your precious Word says, yet I still find it so difficult to let it ALL go and rest in You. This is my desperate plea for Your ever-ready help. I miss Your deep-seated joy and peace that makes no sense to possess in the storms of life- something only You can give. I’m reaching out- slowly. Please help me take holds of what You so graciously give Your children- love, peace, joy, faith- all the fruit of the Spirit. I need them so much. Feeling rather exposed and bear of fruit these days- in a word- empty. I’ve been ripe for the picking by my worst enemy and he’s not missed this golden opportunity to create the very thing that brings him great delight, interjecting a stressful mess into my life. But . . . Now thanks be unto God, which always causeth us to triumph in Christ, and maketh manifest the savour of his knowledge by us in every place (2 Corinthians 2:14). That alone lifts me up above the junk of my life and gives me hope that today can be better than yesterday.

I can let go of the stress in my life more and more until I am free from the chains it produces- anxiety, fear, sickness, etc, resulting in this joyless existence. I can begin to think and to see more clearly now. Triumphing in Jesus is learning to let go and refusing to carry the cares of this life (aka- stress!). If we had this down pat, then none of us would need to learn to do it. And as I look around me, I see other women of God whose lives have also become riddled with the stresses of life. No one likes to admit it, but we many of us could better in this area. Sometime, we even get caught up in talking about all the bad things that happen in our lives as if we derived a sense of pleasure or positive attention from it. God help us!

A quick word study gives me insight into the true meaning of the use of the root word for careful/anxiety in the Greek; it means distraction. Now I get it! Satan wants to fill my life with so much stress that I am distracted from my first love, Jesus, who can handle the stress in my life if I learn to let go of it. We were never designed to do what God has done for us, i.e., carry and fix all my problems. Jesus hung on the cross for my peace, my healing- inside and out. My prayer today is that we all learn to let it go. Jesus died for us to live a powerful, abundant life in Him, so go for it! Ask God to help you learn to live your life differently- today!

Hebrews 12:1-2 Wherefore seeing we also are compassed about with so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which doth so easily beset us, and let us run with patience the race that is set before us, Looking unto Jesus the author and finisher of our faith; who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is set down at the right hand of the throne of God.

Leave a Reply

