I Give Power Unto You

Luke 10:19 Behold, I give unto you power to tread on serpents and scorpions, and over all the power of the enemy: and nothing shall by any means hurt you.

Have you ever had one of those days that seemed as if everyone and everything (even friends and family) were against you? I think we all have, but how and why does this happen? And when it happens, what do I do before that overwhelming I-can’t- do-anything-right-today attitude pops up inside of me and I begin to crumble in a heap of defeat and discouragement. This felling wants to hang out with me. Believe me, these thoughts that try to “hang out with me” are not my friends, in fact they are from the enemy!

I have been told before by a trusted friend that I was my own worst enemy. Those words were spoken years ago, but the “sting” is still there. Yes, I think my friend was correct in his assumption of my life, especially my spiritual life. Fortunately, Jesus has the answer to the question of how to handle the garbage the enemy throws into our lives. Look at the beginning of Matt. 4 for a few minutes. How does Jesus, who had just come out of a 40-day fast, handle the temptations thrown at Him? Peer carefully into the scenario between satan and Jesus. Who was in charge here-Jesus or Satan? How was Jesus tempted? How did He defeat satan’s advances? Who won the battle?

The above interaction serves as a model for us of how to defeat and be in authority (in charge) of those times of testing and temptation. I think many of us know this account from Jesus’ life and what the outcome was. But do we, as Christians, know how to defeat the enemy or in some cases even recognize the origin of such situations and circumstances in our lives? Jesus came to earth to defeat the enemy of our souls once and for all time. It is a done deal-yay! We must believe this is true and take hold of God’s word and let it penetrate deeply into our hearts and lives, creating strength and faith and the authority He left here with us. I know I am tired of the junk I have allowed the enemy to cast into my life through creating much stress and drama around me.

I am ready to rise above this earthly drama around me and refuse to fall into his traps and schemes any more. He specializes in smoke and mirror techniques to distract me from that which is good and holy and righteous because this is where I gain strength, courage, wisdom, and peace to live a holy life before God and people (A very important ministry – a life well lived). There is no substitute for time spent in the presence of God and time spent in The Bible. I encourage, no I challenge each of you to do a study of the Scripture in this blog and truly grow in your walk with God. Don’t stay where you are or defeat is certain. My prayer for you is that you became ALL Good intends for you to be in Him, for I can do nothing without Him.The next time you find that your mind is distracted and seems to have taken a “vacation” from listening to the Holy Spirit lead, and your find yourself overrun with wonky thoughts and your emotions are raw, stop, drop, and pray.

Lord, I see how the enemy has come at me again today, and I refuse to allow him an inroad into my life. Holy Spirit, bring to remembrance what God’s holy word says about the situation I’m dealing with now. Help me to effectively wear the whole armor of God, so I can stand against the wiles of the enemy today. I know I can do all things through Your Holy Spirit, who is alive in me. I thank You, Father God for strengthening me, empowering me, and instructing me with the sword of the Spirit, the word of God. Amen.

References:
Ephesians 6:1-18; Philippians 4:13; Luke 10:19; Matt. 28:18; 2 Cor. 10: 3-6 – cast down those thoughts the enemy brings to your mind, in other words, refuse to think on them- remember they are lies (John 8:44). Satan’s purpose (John 10:10) is to kill, to steal, and to destroy us and our testimonies (words and lifestyle), so no one would be interested in the life we live, thus never come to Jesus!

* As a note of personal thanks, I would like to thank all the men and women of God who have been instrumental in pouring into my life or I would surely not be able to stand for the truth of God. I praise God for their godly examples. I love you all!

Leave a Reply

